Fagor Electronica's Blog

All the latest news about our activity.

Interview with Sergio Cameno

We are going to interview our colleague Sergio Cameno, responsible of the project area, to know him better and to know about his experience in the company.

  1. For those who do not know you, how would you describe yourself?

I would describe myself as a simple, hard-working and responsible person. I tend to be quite shy, especially at the beginning.


  1. Could you give us an overview of your business career from the beginning to nowadays? 

I started in the company as a trainee in the implementation department that had just been set up. In that moment, I became responsible for the development, combining my new position with position of a developer, but in a less part. The idea behind the creation of the department was to develop customised functionalities according to customer requirements, which were not within the product standard, such as customised reports or integration of new equipment or peripherals. My first development was to integrate an equipment that communicated by satellite, for the remote areas without coverage in Colombia, which required by law to be located by local authority in every moment. Then, the department grew and also took charge of the implementation of the equipment in the clients, taking those accounts to the after-sales service. To do this, 2 people were incorporated in the team and also a new developer. The demand increased and also the team, becoming 5-6 customer managers and 3 developers in Spain, and a software factory in Morocco with another 3 developers. In that moment, I became responsible for the development part, combining my new position with that of a developer, but to a lesser degree. Finally, since this year, I have become the head of the department and also the head of the development and client management departments, which has led to a new department called projects.


  1. What is your biggest achievement in the position you hold?

I have not been in my new position long enough and global situation is a little bit strange because of the Covid. I think my biggest achievement in this short period of time has been being able to fit the different situations that our customers go through and to be able to adapt to them, helping them to move forward and grasp new challenges.


  1. How is the working environment with your colleagues in the company?

Very good, I would say excellent. Many evenings and without fail every Friday we meet to drink beer and sometimes to go out to have lunch. In summer, which is the time of BBQ, we meet to prepare them. We also used to go on boat trip as we are lucky enough to have a couple of friends who take us out for the day. In winter, we always have a few lunches/dinners in some parts of the region. We also usually go out after parties and even go dancing, although for this they know they can’t count on me, as I lack coordination.


  1. What do you like to do in your free time?

I like to practice mainly paddle tennis and to watch football and motor sports (F1, MotoGP…). Also, I love cinema and watching series, I watch as many as I can. With some of my colleagues, we have an appointment almost every day on the console (I’m with them all day, at home and at work)


Do you want to know more about our products?

Fill in the following form and we will inform you as soon as possible